The fellowship is aimed at doctoral students working on transnational and transcultural references or interconnections in Eastern Europe from the Middle Ages to the present, with a special focus on the German-speaking population.
The application deadline for the new call is December 31, 2023.
With the Immanuel Kant Scholarship, the Minister of Culture Affairs promotes outstandingly qualified young scholars in the fields of history, cultural studies and social sciences. The Kant Fellowship is aimed at doctoral students who are working on transnational and transcultural topics or interrelationships in Eastern Europe from the Middle Ages to the present day, with particular emphasis on the German-speaking population. This includes a range of topic areas including escape, expulsion and resettlement, as well as the integration processes after 1945. 
What is funding provided for?
Funding is available for projects in the fields of history and politics, European ethnology/folklore, art history, history of literature and language, migration research and social sciences.
What are the regional focuses?
The regional focus is on the historical Prussian eastern provinces (Silesia, East Brandenburg, Pomerania, East and West Prussia) in the present-day states of 
deu. Polen, pol. Polska

Poland is a state in Central Eastern Europe and is home to approximately 38 million people. The country is the sixth largest member state of the European Union. The capital and biggest city of Poland is Warsaw. Poland is made up of 16 voivodships. The largest river in the country is the Vistula (Polish: Wisła).

deu. Russland, rus. Rossija, rus. Россия

The Russian Federation is the largest territorial state in the world and is inhabited by about 145 million people. The capital and largest city is Moscow, with about 11.5 million inhabitants, followed by St. Petersburg with more than 5.3 million inhabitants. The majority of the population lives in the European part of Russia, which is much more densely populated than the Asian part.

Since 1992, the Russian Federation has been the successor state to the Russian Soviet Republic (Russian Socialist Federative Soviet Republic, RSFSR), by far the largest constituent state of the former Soviet Union. It is also the legal successor of the Soviet Union in the sense of international law.

, as well as the former and present settlement areas of Germans in eastern, eastern central and south-eastern Europe (primarily in the 
ces. Česko, deu. Tschechien

The Czech Republic is a country in Central Europe with a population of about 10.5 million people. The capital and largest city of the country is Prague. In the Czech Republic lie the historical landscapes of Bohemia, Moravia and parts of Silesia. In 1918 the state of Czechoslovakia was formed, but the Czech Republic was not founded until 1993. The country has been a member of the EU since 01.05.2004.

slk. Slovensko, deu. Slowakei

Slovakia is a country in Central Europe, which is lived in by about 5.5 million people. The capital of the country is Bratislava (Pressburg). Slovakia has been independent since 1993. Before that it was part of Czechoslovakia for several decades.

, in the former 
Soviet Union
deu. Union der Sozialistischen Sowjetrepubliken, deu. Sowjetunion, rus. Союз Советских Социалистических Республик, rus. Sovetskiy Soyuz, rus. Советский Союз

The Soviet Union (SU or USSR, Russian: Союз Советских Социалистических Республик, СССР) was a state in Eastern Europe, Central and Northern Asia existing from 1922 to 1991. The USSR was inhabited by about 290 million people and formed the largest territorial state in the world, with about 22.5 million square km. The Soviet Union was a socialist soviet republic with a one-party system.

 and the Baltic states as well as in 
hun. Magyarország, deu. Ungarn

Hungary is a country in Central Europe, whose capital is Budapest. The country is home to about 10 million people and was part of the so-called Habsburg Empire for several centuries. Hungary has been a member of the European Union since 01.05.2004. The Danube is the largest river in the country.

deu. Rumänien, ron. România

Romania is a country in southeastern Europe with a population of almost 20 million people. The capital of the country is Bucharest. The state is situated directly on the Black Sea, the Carpathian Mountains and borders Bulgaria, Serbia, Hungary, Ukraine and Moldova. Romania was established in 1859 from the merger of Moldova and Wallachia. Romania is home to Transylvania, the central region for the German minority there.

 and the former 
srp. Југославија, hrv. Jugoslavija, deu. Jugoslawien, slv. Jugoslavija, sqi. Jugosllavia

Yugoslavia was a southeastern European state that existed, with interruptions and in slightly changing borders, from 1918 to 1992 and 2003, respectively. The capital and largest city of the country was Belgrade. Historically, a distinction is made in particular between the period of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia from 1918 to 1941 (also called 'First Yugoslavia') and communist Yugoslavia from 1945 (the so-called 'Second Yugoslavia') under the dictatorial ruling head of state Josip Broz Tito (1892-1980). The disintegration of Yugoslavia from 1991 and the independence aspirations of several parts of the country eventually led to the Yugoslav Wars (also called the Balkan Wars or post-Yugoslav Wars). Today, the successor states of Yugoslavia are Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Kosovo and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

A basic scholarship of 1550,- Euro per month is granted for a period of two years. There may  be additional funding on a discretionary basis (family allowance and/or study abroad).
Who is eligible to apply?
Doctoral students whose scientific qualification has been proven by excellent examination results and whose research project is expected to lead to a significant expansion of the state of research can be funded. Applications may be submitted by domestic and foreign applicants or their supervising professors at a university in the Federal Republic of Germany. These supervisors must be entitled to examine in accordance with the respective doctoral regulations. 
External Image
External Image

Siehe auch